Social and Behavioral Sciences

Jackson State’s Division of Social and Behavioral Sciences provides quality instruction and learning opportunities for a diverse community of learners including: academic transfer, vocational/technical, and non-traditional students.  Our division offers Tennessee Transfer Pathways in Psychology, Sociology, History, Political Science, Social Work, Criminal Justice, and K – 6 Education.  In addition to these Pathways, our Division offers courses in Philosophy, Physical Education, and Geography which can be applied to our General Education Core Requirements. Our classes are taught by expert faculty members in a variety of modalities including lecture, online, and video-broadcasting and are available in an array of times beginning in the early morning through the evening.

Honors Program

Service Learning



Nancy HickeyNancy Hickey
Assistant Professor of Education
nhickey@jscc.edu



Bob RainesBob Raines, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology
braines@jscc.edu



Billy FryBilly Fry
Associate Professor of Political Science and History
bfry@jscc.edu



Vivian GroomsVivian Grooms
Associate Professor of Psychology
vgrooms@jscc.edu



Lawrence GundersenLawrence Gundersen, Ph.D.
Professor of History and Political Science
lgundersen@jscc.edu



Scott WoodsScott Woods
Associate Professor, Psychology
swoods@jscc.edu



Nell SenterNell Senter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Philosophy
nsenter@jscc.edu



Emily FortnerEmily Fortner
Assistant Professor of Sociology
efortner@jscc.edu