COMPASS Test

FREE Practice tests and other helpful information:  www.testprepreview.com and  www.act.org/compass/sample/

If you want to study for the COMPASS math test, you may find the following sites helpful: www.wtamu.edu/academic/anns/mps/math/mathlab/ , www.khanacademy.org and www.actstudent.org/onlineprep/index.html. In addition, students may pick up a copy of an ACT study guide to practice. The JSCC library has several copies and local high school guidance offices have copies.

Test Site: Academic Assistance Center (above the Library)

Fee: $20.00 (Fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable)

COMPASS testing is required for first-time degree-seeking students age 21 and older. It is also required for degree seeking students with college work who have not passed a college-level English or math course who started to college after fall, 1985. It assesses your college readiness skills in reading, writing and math. 

In order to COMPASS test, your online college admission or readmission application for the term has to be processed and your need for testing verified. Feel free to check on the status of your application by contacting the Admissions Office.

IN ORDER TO TEST, PLEASE FOLLOW THESE STEPS(Appointment required)

1.  Review test dates provided below.

2.  CLICK on the following link www.jscc.edu/compass to schedule your appointment at least 24 hours in advance.  NOTE:  The 24 hours does not include weekends.  You will need your J-number and phone number.

3.  On test day, arrive 15-20 minutes early to pay your fee in the Business Office.

4.  Take your receipt and photo ID with you to the Student Assistance Center in the Student Union Bldg.  They will verify that you have your receipt and a valid photo ID with you in order to test.  Acceptable forms of ID include a valid driver's license, state or federal photo ID or JSCC ID.

5.  PLEASE BE SEATED AND WAIT.  While you're waiting, try to relax until someone from the Academic Assistance Center (proctor) comes to get you.  Everyone will be admitted at the same time.

6.  When you arrive in the Acadademic Assistance Center, you will present your photo identification and receipt to the AAC staff.  At this point, ALL CELL PHONES must be completely turned off!

Next, you will be issued a locker to place your cell phone, electronic devices, hat, personal items and any extra papers you may have.  You will be given scratch paper and a pencil that must be collected at the end of the test.  A calculator will be available for you to use on the math test; however, you may also bring your own.  To see if yours is permitted, please go to http://www.actstudent.org/faq/calculator.html.

Check with the Lexington, Savannah and Humboldt centers for their testing dates and times.

Appointments must be made at least 24 hours in advance.  Click on this link: www.jscc.edu/compass

Compass Test Dates

DatesTimes
Monday, Nov 03, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Nov 04, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Nov 04, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Nov 05, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Nov 06, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Nov 06, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Nov 10, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Nov 11, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Nov 11, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Nov 12, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Nov 13, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Nov 13, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Nov 17, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Nov 18, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Nov 18, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Nov 19, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Nov 20, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Nov 20, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Dec 01, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Dec 02, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Dec 02, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Dec 03, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Dec 04, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Dec 04, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Dec 08, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Dec 09, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Dec 09, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Dec 10, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Dec 11, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Dec 11, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Dec 15, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Dec 16, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Dec 16, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Dec 17, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Dec 18, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Dec 18, 201412:00 PM

Compass Test Dates for Fast Track

No dates currently listed

Compass Extended Hours

No dates currently listed