Confirmation Test

Location:  Academic Assistance Center (Above the Library)

Cost: $5.00 per subject or part to confirm ACT or COMPASS scores
(Note: All fees are non-refundable and non-transferable)

This series of tests is offered before each semester for students who wish to confirm their ACT or COMPASS placement in math, reading and/or writing. Students are encouraged to confirm their placement.  However, you may confirm a Learning Support class only one time. If you earned a grade (F, PR, W) in a Learning Support class, you cannot retest for that class; you must re-take that class to remove the grade. 

Past experience shows that students who prepare for the Confirmation test have a good chance of testing up a level. Students who do not prepare usually do not move up.  Therefore, there is a mandatory one week waiting period between the Compass test and Confirmation test.

Changes in Learning Support (LS):  Students who tested into the Academy or Learning Support may take a Confirmation test in an attempt to move into Learning Support or into college-level courses.

 IN ORDER TO TEST, PLEASE FOLLOW THESE STEPS (Appointment Required)

1.  Reveiw test dates provided below.

2.  CLICK on the following link www.jscc.edu/compass to schedule your appointment at least 24 hours in advance.  NOTE:  The 24 hours does not include the weekend.  You will need your J-number and phone number. 

3.  On test day, arrive 15-20 minutes early to pay your fee in the Business Office. 

4.  Take your receipt and photo ID with you to the Student Assistance Center in the Student Union Bldg.  They will verify that you have your receipt and a valid photo ID with you in order to test.  Acceptable forms of ID include a unexpired driver's license, a state or federal photo ID or a JSCC ID. 

5.  PLEASE BE SEATED AND WAIT.  While you're waiting, try to relax until someone from the Academic Assistance Center (proctor) comes to get you.  Everyone will be admitted at the same time. 

6.  When you arrive in the Academic Assistance Center, you will present your photo identification and receipt to the AAC staff.  At this point, ALL CELL PHONES must be completely turned off!

Next, you will be issued a locker to place your cell phone, electronic devices, hat, personal items and any extra papers you may have.  You will be given scratch paper and a pencil that must be collected at the end of the test.  A calculator will be available for you to use on the math test; however, you may also bring your own.  Please go to http://www.actstudent.org/faq/calculator.html to see if yours is permitted. 

 

You have until the last test day prior to the first day of class to Confirm a Learning Support class and you must honor the one week waiting period between tests.  Check with the Savannah, Lexington and Humboldt Centers for their testing dates and times.

Other information:

Students requesting special testing must make a request a week before the scheduled test date and must have accommodations approved through Disabled Student Services. Students may test only one time for the upcoming semester.

Confirmation Test Dates

Confirmation Test Dates
DatesTimes
Monday, Nov 03, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Nov 04, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Nov 04, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Nov 05, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Nov 06, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Nov 06, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Nov 10, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Nov 11, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Nov 11, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Nov 12, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Nov 13, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Nov 13, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Nov 17, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Nov 18, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Nov 18, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Nov 19, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Nov 20, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Nov 20, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Dec 01, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Dec 02, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Dec 02, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Dec 03, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Dec 04, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Dec 04, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Dec 08, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Dec 09, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Dec 09, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Dec 10, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Dec 11, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Dec 11, 201412:00 PM
Monday, Dec 15, 201412:00 PM
Tuesday, Dec 16, 201408:30 AM
Tuesday, Dec 16, 201412:00 PM
Wednesday, Dec 17, 201412:00 PM
Thursday, Dec 18, 201408:30 AM
Thursday, Dec 18, 201412:00 PM