Jackson State’s Henderson Receives Sterling Award

Dee Henderson, Director of Institutional Advancement at Jackson State Community College (JSCC), has received the Sterling Award, which annually recognizes the twenty most influential women in West Tennessee.

Henderson is an alumna of Jackson State and now proudly serves the institution in her current role.

Henderson attended Medina High School and went on to earn her associates degree from Jackson State.

Her professional career has focused on education working in areas of public relations, communications, advancement and fundraising. Through her leadership in her current role at Jackson State, she helps JSCC receive donations and grants that make higher education possible for thousands of students in West Tennessee.

She also champions the JSCC Foundation, a fund that now holds $2.5 million to help many students. She provides leadership for the annual Economic Summit in Jackson, focusing on issues that impact our economy.

Henderson has received humanitarian awards from Tennessee VICA Skills USA and the Sponsor of Life Award. She is also a graduate of WestStar Class of 2002 and continues to be an active alumna serving on the WestStar Working Womens Conference Committee for the past 12 years. She is a speaker with the WestStar Speakers Bureau and a lifetime member of the WestStar Alumni Association. Henderson is also a member of: Tennessee Association of Community Leadership, Tennessee Advancement Resource Council, Council for Advancement and Support of Education, Circle of Red American Heart Association and Executive Leadership Team for the American Heart Walk. She has also served as a volunteer with the Carl Perkins Center for the Prevention of Child Abuse.

Jackson State is proud to call Henderson its own!

Jackson State’s Morgan & Tummins Recipients of TNF Arthur Davis LPN to RN Scholarship

For the second consecutive year, the two recipients of the Tennessee Nurses Foundation Arthur Davis LPR to RN Scholarship are Jackson State Community College students. Shayna K. Morgan, LPN, and Tarah B. Tummins, LPN, are this years recipients.

Morgan is a native of Beech Bluff and Tummins is a native of McEwen. Morgan has an expected graduation date of December 2013 and Tummins in May 2013.

Morgan said, Attaining my degree will benefit nursing in Tennessee in the future because we are the future of nursing. With the economy changing, advanced technology, and future changes in health care, Tennessee will benefit from having experienced nurses that are knowledgeable and adaptable to change. My long-term goal is to obtain my nurse practitioner degree.

Tummins said, Getting my ASN degree will allow me to further my education so I can ultimately become a nursing educator in colleges in Tennessee. I plan to share my knowledge and experience with other students and my fellow colleagues. Education is a crucial component to not only other nurses, but to the community. I plan to make this my priority.

The TNF Arthur Davis LPN to RN Scholarship is an educational scholarship for those that qualify and are licensed practicing nurses in Tennessee. This scholarship is awarded annually and is $1,000.

The deadline to file for the upcoming years Arthur Davis LPN to RN Scholarship is November 1. For more information regarding this, email tnf@tnaonline.org or call 615-254-0350.