29th Annual WTH Foundation Charity Gala Award Recipients Announced

The West Tennessee Healthcare Foundation recently announced this year’s class of Charity Gala award recipients to be recognized at the Charity Gala on Saturday, November 10. Among this year’s honorees is our very own Dr. Allana Hamilton who will receive the Jackson Award for her service to the community in the field of education.

The Jackson Awards were established by the Foundation in 2006 as a means to honor those in our community who exemplify the truest qualities of a leader. The awards are presented to individuals who have served in one of six areas: the arts, community service, education, healthcare, leadership, or volunteer service. This year’s recipients are as follows:

Melinda Hearn Reid – The Arts

Tammy Buchanan – Community Service

Dr. Allana Hamilton – Education

Dr. David Roberts – Healthcare

Gerald “Buster” Ferguson – Leadership

Dan Brooks – Volunteer Service

In addition to the Jackson Awards, the WTH Foundation also presents the Dr. A. Barnett Scott Service Award and The Tigrett Award. The recipient of this year’s Scott Service Award is Lee Gaugh. Bill and Carol Latimer will be presented the Tigrett Award.

The Charity Gala is the largest annual fundraiser hosted by the WTH Foundation each November. The Charity Gala includes a cocktail reception, silent auction, seated dinner, awards presentations, live music, and dancing. Proceeds from the event benefit Ayers Children’s Medical Center and Kirkland Cancer Center. Last year, the event raised $215,000 and has come to be recognized as one of West Tennessee’s “most elegant events.”

To purchase tickets for the Charity Gala, visit www.thecharitygala.org or call the Foundation at (731)984-2140.