Institutional Challenge Exams

Course Challenge Exams are local tests developed by a JSCC to verify learning achievement for a particular course for students who feel they already have the knowledge they would gain from a particular course. This exam is often in the form of a final exam, developed by individual departments or faculty members.

If CLEP test options are available, we will not have an institutional exam for that course but, will refer the student to that option. For more information and a list of course possibilities in CLEP see http://www.jscc.edu/equivalency-exams.

If the course you need to challenge is not a CLEP option, please contact the appropriate Division Dean for more information and test options.

Language and Arts

Rubrics include the following:

ENGL, ESOL, FREN, SPCH, THEA, ART, ARTH, ARTP, SPAN, READ, ORN, COL, MUS, COM, COMM, HUM



Mechel Camp

Mechel Camp, Ph.D.
Dean of Communication & Humanities/Prof. of English
mcamp@jscc.edu


Math and Natural Science

Rubrics include the following:

AGR, MATH, BIOL, CHEM, PSCI, PHYS



Richard Coppings

Richard Coppings, Ph.D.
Dean of Math and Natural Sciences/Prof. of Biology
rcoppings@jscc.edu


Business, Industrial Tech, Workforce Development

Rubrics include the following:

ACCT, AOM, BUS, ECON, EET, IT, INFS, MGT, MET, MKT



Terri Messer

Terri Messer
Dean of Business and Industry / Associate Professor of Economics
tmesser@jscc.edu


Allied Health, Computer Science

Rubrics include the following:

MLT, PTA, RAD, RCT, EMT, HSC, PBT, CIS, CISP



Tom Pigg

Tom Pigg
Dean of Allied Health and CIS/Professor of CIS
tpigg@jscc.edu


Social and Behavior Sciences

Rubrics include the following:

PSYC, SOCI, HIST, SWRK, CRMJ, POLS, PHED, PHIL, EDU, GEOG



Nell Senter

Nell Senter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Philosophy
nsenter@jscc.edu


Nursing

Rubrics include the following:

NUR, HEC



Leslie West-Sands

Leslie West-Sands
Dean & Program Director of Nursing, Prof. of Nursing
lsands@jscc.edu