Honor society students at Tennessee's community and technical colleges celebrated at Student Honors Luncheon

Apr 4th, 2022

NASHVILLE (March 31, 2022) - The College System of Tennessee celebrated 51 of the top honor society students at its community and technical colleges Wednesday, March 30, during the system's 2022 Student Honors Luncheon.

The annual luncheon salutes top-achieving members of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) and the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS). PTK is the national honor society for students at two-year colleges, and the 25 PTK members from our community colleges honored are members of the PTK All-Tennessee Academic Team. NTHS honors and recognizes students in career and technical education, and 26 members from our Colleges of Applied Technology were celebrated at the luncheon.

In addition to recognizing student achievement, both honor societies provide opportunities for student leadership development and service. The students honored Wednesday were nominated by their colleges. Each was individually recognized during the luncheon program, and presented medallions and certificates by their respective college presidents, signifying their achievements.

"For all of you, your presence here today means that you have already achieved a level of excellence that demands attention and led to your induction into these two honor societies. The academic and technical skills that you have demonstrated will serve you well - regardless of whether you're planning on continuing your studies at a university - or going straight into your new careers," Dr. Russ Deaton, TBR executive vice chancellor for policy and strategy, told the honorees.

"Take a moment to pause and look around the room at the impressive array of talent gathered here today. This room teems with leadership, service, dedication, perseverance, and excellence. It jumps off the page from your bios and it is evident in the eyes of each of our honorees. This room is full of Tennessee's present and future, and our state is in good hands," Deaton said.

The Honors Luncheon is a part of the College System of Tennessee's fourth Statewide Outstanding Achievement Recognition (SOAR) program.

Jackson State Community College recognized students Rebekah Goodman from Hardin Co. and Hannah Gore from Gibson Co.

The Student Honors Luncheon is presented this year by The Ayers Foundation, founded by Jim and Janet Ayers to improve the quality of life for the people of Tennessee with a focus on improving postsecondary education opportunities for high school students in rural counties. Jim and Janet Ayers were among several benefactors presented Chancellors Awards for Excellence in Philanthropy by TBR Chancellor Flora W. Tydings during the program.

Others addressing the students included Dr. Tydings, Dr. Rebecca Ashford, president of Chattanooga State Community College and this year's PTK Tennessee presidential ambassador; and Jacob Tucker, executive assistant of The Ayers Foundation. Nikki Burdine, co-anchor of WRKN-TV's Good Morning Nashville, was master of ceremonies.

The SOAR program also included TBR Day on the Hill, when college presidents, student government leaders, system office staff and friends of the system visited with legislators to share their success stories.

Back to JSCC News Archives